Anna Boch

This nice cosy room in pastel shades oozes relaxation with its comfy bed. The wardrobe features line patterns and is inspired by the Art Nouveau style of Mackintosh (1868-1928).

An original painting by Anna Boch’s first teacher adorns one of the walls. This impressionist and luminist painter had an amusing first name...

Comfort

The Anna Boch room is probably the most romantic and feminine in the whole house. The bathroom has an Italian-style shower decorated with Art Nouveau ceramic tiles dating back more than a century.

The room has a wired internet connection, wi-fi and a smart TV with international channels.

Facilities

  • Ass milk soaps
  • Full HD smart TV
  • Wired internet
  • Wi-Fi
  • International channels
  • Hair dryer
  • Iron and ironing board

Gallery

Your hosts

Muriel and Bernard are passionate! Passionate about art, their city, and also life.

Villa Balat is a reflection of their many passions.

They love their city, its heritage and nature, and will invite you to discover the pedestrian streets where you can enjoy a stroll, wonderful unmissable districts, especially the secret and hidden places for which the city on the Meuse is renowned.

They will share their favourites with you for a day of culture, a shopping trip or a recreational and gourmet break. You will love their serenity, their smiles and general good humour!  They are very attentive to their guests, and will make your stay unforgettable!

History

A daughter of rich pottery owners from La Louvière, Anna Boch was given a complete artistic education, at Château de la Closière, designed by the architect Poulaert. Around 1876, Isidore Verheyden introduced her to the joy of painting outdoors. Later, influenced by pointillism and Van Rysselberghe, up to her death she painted beautiful landscapes bathed in light and bouquets of flowers, in violet shades peculiar to her style.

In 1885, she was the only woman elected to the avant-garde group “Les XX”, the same year as Rops. She invited the greatest French post-impressionists to join, travelled widely and amassed a huge collection of paintings. As a patron, she encouraged young unknown artists and was the only person to buy a painting from Van Gogh during his lifetime: "The red vineyard". A music lover, she organised many concerts in her Brussels town house, which had a majestic fireplace designed by Victor Horta.

Boch

Anna Boch

Cette agréable chambre cosy aux couleurs pastel invite spontanément à la détente avec son lit douillet. La garde robe aux formes linéaires, s’inspire du style Art nouveau de Mackintosh (1868-1928).

Un authentique tableau du premier maître d’Anna Boch orne l’un des murs. Découvrez le prénom amusant de ce peintre impressionniste et luministe …

Confort

La chambre Anna Boch est probablement la plus romantique et la plus féminine de la maison. La salle de bain possède une douche à l’italienne réalisée avec des céramiques Art Nouveau datant de plus d’un siècle.

La chambre possède une connexion câblée, le wi-fi et une smart TV avec chaînes internationales.

équipements

  • Savons élaborés à l'ancienne "Nez Zen"
  • Smart Tv Full HD
  • Câble internet
  • WiFi
  • Chaînes internationales
  • Sèche-cheveux
  • Fer et planche à repasser

Galerie

Les Hôtes

Muriel et Bernard sont des passionnés ! Passionnés d’art, de leur ville mais aussi de la vie.

La Villa Balat est à l’image de leurs nombreuses passions.

Amoureux de leur ville, de son patrimoine et de la nature, ils vous inviteront à découvrir les rues piétonnes où il fait bon flâner, les espaces d’exception à ne pas rater et surtout les lieux secrets et cachés qui font la renommée de la cité mosane.

Ils partageront avec vous leurs coups de cœur pour une journée culturelle, une séance shopping ou une pause récréative et gourmande. On les aime pour leur sérénité, leur sourire et leur bonne humeur quotidienne !  Aux petits soins avec leurs hôtes, ils feront de votre séjour un souvenir inoubliable !

Histoire

Fille de riches faïenciers louviérois , Anna Boch bénéfice d’une éducation artistique complète,  au château de la Closière, fruit de l’architecte Poulaert. Vers 1876, Isidore Verheyden lui fait découvrir le bonheur de peindre en plein air. Par la suite, influencée par le pointillisme et Van Rysselberghe, elle peindra, jusqu'à sa mort, de beaux paysages baignés de lumière et des bouquets de fleurs où éclate un violet qui lui est particulier.

En 1885, elle est la seule femme élue au sein du Cercle avant-gardiste des XX, la même année que Rops. Elle y invite les plus grands post-impressionnistes français, voyage beaucoup et se constitue une vaste collection de tableaux. Mécène, elle encourage les jeunes artistes inconnus et sera la seule à acheter une toile à Van Gogh de son vivant : « la Vigne rouge ». Mélomane, elle organise de nombreux concerts dans son hôtel de maître bruxellois dont la majestueuse cheminée est l’œuvre de Victor Horta.

Boch